Prague, the capital of Czechia, is one of the most valuable historic cities. In 1992, the historic centre of the city covering 866 hectares was listed in the UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage Register. Prague represents a unique collection of historic monuments dominated by the Prague Castle which towers high above the city. It is a display of many art styles and movements.

The historic centre of the city is situated on both banks of the Vltava river and it consists of six parts – formerly independent urban units unified in the 18th century: Staré Město (Old Town), Josefov (the preserved part of the former Jewish Town, today a part of the Old Town), Nové Město (New Town), Malá Strana (Lesser Town), Hradčany and Vyšehrad. Naturally, most of the historic monuments, museums and galleries are concentrated there (source and more information on